Why is ITIL Certification the most Chosen Among Individuals?

ITIL Certification

ITIL stands for Information technology Infrastructure Library, which is one of the world’s most popularly used IT service management frameworks. It is owned by a joint venture of HM Cabinet Office and Capita Plc, known as AXELOS. The ITIL frameworks are mainly used to enhance the performance levels and improve the quality of the products at the desired standards. These frameworks are used to guide the processes and operations to channelize them in the right direction. It encourages business change, transformation, and development. It helps in improving the efficiency of the processes. ITIL has vendor neutrality, easy to understand the framework and best practices, which contributes majorly towards its success. 

The stages that ITIL comprises are listed below:

This phase of ITIL is concerned with making service an asset so that it can deliver enhanced services. The service strategy addresses business processes, corporate governance, policies, corporate culture, decision making. It aims at removing the obstacles in the service processes, thereby improving up to a great extent. 

  • service design

The service design is concerned with managing the services in order to get high quality from it. Basically, it looks at the services from the managerial point of view(such as availability, capability, service level). 

  • service transition

It is mainly concerned with the transition of the development process to the product operations. It also covers quality control and quality testing. 

  • service operation

Once services are started, the service operation is the strategy to keep managing these services in the long run. This includes access management, event management, disaster management, incident response, customer support and application lifecycle.

  • continual service improvement           

It often happens that in spite of great services, it receives negative feedback from the end-users or anomalies also take place during the operations. So to keep up with the improvements, continual service improvement makes sure that all issues are handled carefully. And least problems occur in future. 

The ITIL Foundation Certification

The ITIL foundation certification by AXELOS is for those professionals who want to learn the ITIL framework and its concepts from scratch. In other words, it is a beginner-level certification. This certification is the upgrade of ITIL v3, and hence this is ITIL v4. This certification is an introduction to the ITIL framework. It works as an end-to-end operating model for the creation, delivery, and continual improvement of high technology products and services. 

The ITIL certification will help you to understand:

  • The holistic approach to the co-creation of value with customers and stakeholders. The guiding principles of ITIL 4.
  • The dimensions of service management. Some of the important concepts from agile, lean, DevOps and the important role they play in delivering the business value.
  • The role of ITIL in delivering the business value
  • Lastly, how effective it is to expand it to different areas
  • The ways in which ITIL processes can be integrated into different areas of service, management and IT.   

The ITIL exam format consists of 40 multiple-choice questions. The minimum percentage of marks required to pass the exam is 65%. It has 60 minutes of total duration.  

Why do People get ITIL Certified?

Here are the top benefits ITIL Certification gives for individuals.

  • Gains expertise in skillset

Accomplishing certifications in ITIL will make you aware and expert in the ITIL service framework. Here we are talking about, ITIL foundation certification, which is the initial level certification that is offered. Apart from it, the ITIL also offers certifications across different difficulty levels. Others of them are listed below:

Level 1: ITIL foundation

Level 2: ITIL Practitioner

Level 3: ITIL Intermediate

Level 4: ITIL Expert

Level 5: ITIL Master

  • Better career opportunities

As you get certified in ITIL, your skillset will be more standardized and sophisticated. Hence, it will add higher value to your curriculum vitae. So, you will get wonderful opportunities from across the world. The reason is that you will be trusted by the companies for your enhanced certification as you have given it by passing the exam and fulfilling the requirements. Proportionately, you will receive higher salary packages and benefits. 

  • Become Future-Ready!

The AXELOS experts make sure that the ITIL principles and concepts stay valid in the present job environment. The reason being that the technology often loses its effectiveness, when innovative technology is evolved or disruptive technology is created. Therefore, it stays aligned with today’s modern technology and development trends. In this way, you will be ready to face the challenges that the industry gives you. It will be safe for the experts to opt for ITIL. Also, ITIL will make you capable to work on incident management, service management, change management, and other related areas. 

  • Make smart career choices

With ITIL certifications, professionals get the opportunity to choose the job roles. The best part is that they may even get the opportunity to work with the upper-level managers. Also, they can pick up the work domain of their own choice. So we can say that ITIL certifications provide autonomy to the professionals. 

  • Investment is definitely worth it!

When organizations invest their precious resources in the ITIL professionals, they are provided with the enhanced products and services in return. It is because the ITIL professionals are proficient in those skills that provide high-quality services. 


ITIL Foundation certification is a beginner-level certification that can also be attained by professionals new to this domain. Even the demand for these professionals is pretty good. According to payscale, the average salary of an ITIL: foundation certified professional in India is ₹1,022,194. The top companies hiring these professionals are Tata consultancy services, IBM private limited, Accenture technology solutions, HCL technologies Ltd., etc. 

This shows the utmost importance of proficiency in ITIL skills and certifications. That being said, it is time for the professionals to provide their excellence to the demanding organizations. Those professionals who want to switch their careers or upgrade their career paths can take up this certification. The best way to learn is to enroll yourself in an online course through one of ALEXOS ‘s accredited training providers. It will make sure that you will become industry-ready by the end of the course. Lastly, you will be able to find the best opportunity for yourself.

About admin

I write about technology, marketing and digital tips. In the past I've worked with Digital Tech, Tirupati Trip. You can reach me at softvisiondevelopmentofc@gmail.com

View all posts by admin

Leave a Reply